About Us



Winchester began its time as a Roman town named Venta Belgarum, and has since grown to be a wonderful busily town of over 45,000 people. It was the first and former capital city of England, now known most famously for it's iconic Cathedral; the longest medieval Cathedral in the world. Completed in 1532, Winchester Cathedral is a beautifully magnificent structure which attracts over 100,000 visitors every year. The structure stands tall just off the high street of the city, and a short couple of minutes from Kingsgate Wines and Provisions. 


Kingsgate Village
Kingsgate Wines and Provisions is situated in 2-4 Kingsgate Street, in the Kingsgate village of Winchester. Not surprisingly, the street is attached to the Kingsgate arch, the second city gate of Winchester; the earlier one having been destroyed by fire in the time of Henry III and Simon de Montfort. Kingsgate Street has been described by Sir Albert Richardson PRA as the most beautiful street in England and it is not difficult to see why. A picturesque array of unique homes perfectly representing the mixture of historical architecture present in Winchester, with each generation of residents making their mark on the city. To walk down the high street means to take in sights from the rich past of England, with the modern shops snuggled into buildings established centuries ago. Kingsgate Village is no exception with independent businesses settled into streets that can be dated back hundreds of years. 


 A photograph taken 03rd November, 1935, during the demolition a Furniture & Antiques Store on College Street and Kingsgate Street.


Kingsgate Wines and Provisions


In 1854 Gilmoures Winchester Almanac and Post Office Directory names one George Steel as running the post office in Kingsgate. This is the earliest record of a post office in this position. In 1880 Miss E.Norton ran Number 2 Kingsgate Street as a Berlin Wool Repository. This had become by 1888 a Post Office and and stationers; the main post office being situated in Parchment Street. Number 2 continued its reign under Miss E.Norton, being joined in 1889 by her sister one Miss A.Norton. The use of the shop this year was listed as "fancy repository" but remained as a Post Office and Stationers under their care until 1937, then transferred to H.A. Meniss until 1963. 
In 1964 Fred Richards who owned Number 3 Kingsgate Street took over the two adjoining properties so that 2-4 Kingsgate Street became "F.A Richards; Grocer, Green Grocer and Post Office". By 1969 this enterprise was being run by R & P Hayhurst and they continued until 1973 when the last of the records are available. While the post office has been closed for many years the Victorian Wall Mounted Post Box with its original enameled sign is still used. 


Two photographs of the same shop front & original Post Office Postbox. The photograph on the left it dated 1915 and the photograph on the right is from 1989. 



 Present Day; Message from The Owner

Kingsgate Post Office dates to 1854, a comparative newcomer in an area where there are buildings dating to the fourteenth century. From tiny premises (which are now our office) it moved next door to more spacious accommodation, expanded to become the local corner shop and Post Office and evolved into the local institution that it now is. Eventually, the Government closed the Post Office part in a Beeching-like rationalisation; the shop remained, as did its local nickname of KPO. A new name was needed and Kingsgate Wines & Provisions was chosen, painted above the door, included on headed stationary, appearing in all electronic media-and completely ignored by our customers; the shop remains and will always be KPO.


Twenty five years into its most recent incarnation, it continues to serve the local community in all its diversity and is part of the five businesses forming the hub of what is now known as Kingsgate Village. It is the place to visit for everyday grocery needs and not-so-everyday grocery needs (pickled lemons, goose fat,...), dry cleaning and wine. We stock well over one hundred different wines of all sorts, with the holding ever expanding. Where possible, the goods are sourced locally: chocolates, honey, flour, tomato juice, apple juice,...; and, of course, wine.


The shop’s motto is painted on an internal beam in its latin form of Multum in Parvo; the translation of which is Much in Little and we are proud to think that these few words summarise the shop rather accurately.